I thought we could all use some cheering up from the record breaking rain we’ve been experiencing.  I don’t know about other gardeners, but I can’t help but feel a little to blame.  Watering nearly every morning at sunrise caused me to think “Please can we get some rain!”  Maybe us gardeners were a little too persistent in our request.

I realized that I had not shared with you my newly planted first bed of the cottage garden in the front yard. Now we remember what it looked like before, but if you don’t this is what we were dealing with.

Image

We had a lot to do before my dreams of a cottage garden could take place.  After we yanked out the azaleas, amended the soil, covered the soil with mulch, and let the bed rest to allow the manure we added to decompose, it was time to put in the plants!  This is usually every gardener’s favorite part of the process.  I know it is certainly mine!

It took me some time to acquire all the plants I needed to fill this bed.  I had a master list, which I checked off as each plant came into my possession.  Many nurseries were visited and I even found some I needed from the plant sale at the Mobile Botanical Gardens.  I do not like to plant a little at a time.  I would rather plant it all together, so they can grow together.  On the day that finally came when I had them all I was racing against daylight to get them all in the ground.  This tends to happen to me a lot in the garden.  I never get all I want done because I need light to do it!  It’s lucky for me the sun does go down or I would never go inside.  The kitchen would not only sometimes be dirty, but always!


Image

As I mentioned before I created a drawing for this area, so it would be easier to plan.  I measure things out as you should to ensure your plants will have enough room to grow.  My antique roses will grow quite large!

Image

Image

You should always lay everything out first to make sure everything will fit.  Then begin to plant.

Image

Notice I have no plants that were placed in front of the water hose.  It’s important to keep things you will need accessible.  It was a lot of work to get to this point, but we were already seeing the benefits of it.  As we were planting we couldn’t get over how fluffy the soil was!  You barely had to use the trowel to dig.  I was so glad because nothing is more important for your plants than good soil.  These plants were placed back in April, so now they have had some time to grow and are starting to really look nice.

Image

Not only is everything starting to blossom, but recently I was given a gift for my cottage garden!

Image

Dianne, aka my garden soul mate, gave me this arbor.  Her husband built it years ago.  I am so honored that she would give it to me.  Now it will be the doorway to my future beds of the cottage garden.

