Just last night my husband gave me a really special gift.  When he came home from work he stood in front of me and said, “Pick a hand.”  The first hand I chose was empty.  Finally when I got it right he held the gift in front of me.  For those of you who know me to be never without something to say, my reaction may come as a shock; I was speechless.  It actually did feel like my heart stopped beating.  It was too full to make any movements.

Unfortunately for him the look on my face made him think I did not like it.  He walked away with it and put it back in his bag.  I looked at him confused and said, “What are you doing?”

“You apparently don’t like it.” he replied.

“Oh, but I do! I love it!”

When he walked back over to me I had tears in my eyes.  I held it in my hands, looked up at him and said, “Thank you.”

Later on that night I recalled having the same reaction to at least 3 other gifts he had given me in the past 11 years.  I have always loved any gift he has given me, but these were gifts I did not know I even wanted or thought to expect from him.

The first time it happened was on our six month anniversary.  This is what he gave me.

A miniature porcelain grand piano.  When I was a little girl I took piano lessons.  Although, I did not own a piano, I only had a keyboard that did not have 88 keys.  At first I didn’t have any keyboard and learned the notes on paper that were made to look like keys.  I think I was the one student in that class who had a real passion for the piano.  I used to watch my cousin play and I knew then I wanted to learn.  Eventually I came to a point where I really needed a piano at home to practice on because of the pedals and my hands needed experience with the weight of the keys.  (Keyboard keys are very light and easy to press down.)  However, my mother could not afford to buy me a piano, therefore, I was forced to quit.  I never got over it.  I used to lie awake at night listening to classical piano on the radio sometimes crying because I wished it was me that was making those incredible sounds that were coming from the piano.

My husband knew this story quite well.  It seemed that he not only heard me, but he really listened and found a way to make my dream come true.  He said it was my “first piano” and that someday I would have one that I could play.  Eventually I did.

The second gift I am uncertain of when it took place.  Maybe a few years later.  For this gift I do not have a picture because what he gave was not tangible.  It was at the cemetery in Gulf Breeze at night.  He had come with me to put flowers on my Father’s and brother, Jimmy’s, graves.  I usually stand there a moment and just let the memory of them wash over me.  My husband stood next to me in silence and waited until I was finished.  Later when we were back at home I asked him if he told them anything while he stood there.  He said that he did.  “I told them that I would take care of you.”  Never in my life did I think anyone would say this to me.  Out of these 4 gifts I share with you, this one was the most important.

By now you’re thinking what else can this guy give you?  On the contrary, he still found a way to give me something that made me speechless.  About 5 years ago I was walking down the hallway at the house I was renting from my cousin and my husband stopped me.  He stood in front of me and held this small charm in his hand.  He said, “I made this for you.”

For those of you who do not know, this is an Om (Aum) symbol.  I had wanted a necklace with this symbol for a very long time, but I could never find one that I liked.  I had spent hours looking on the internet and finally gave up.  I hadn’t looked for one in a few years and had not said anything to him about it.  However, sure enough he had listened, but this time I didn’t even need to speak.

So that brings us to the current gift (I was getting ready to write final gift, but something tells me this wont be the last one.)  This one was a gift for my garden.  I have been waiting a long time for one of these and I cannot wait to use it.

By the way he made this gift too.  When someone makes it themselves it is already pretty special, but when it’s just what will touch your heart the gift becomes an offering of their love for you.  I think that is what makes his gifts so special.  He finds a way to manifest his love into an object or sometimes just one sentence.  If you’ve ever been in love you know how difficult it is to explain.  His gift to this world is that he can take that love he feels and hold it in his hand and offer it up.  Even as “wordy” as I am, I cannot put into words exactly how these gifts have made me feel.  The only ones I can come up with are gratitude, joy, and love.

This post is dedicated to my husband Vito.  Your love continues to make me grow and teaches me what real love is all about.

